SportsT20 World Cup: Pakistan gets first win, beats Canada by 7 wickets

T20 World Cup: Pakistan gets first win, beats Canada by 7 wickets

In the ICC T20 World Cup, Pakistan won the event by defeating Canada by 7 wickets.

Canada’s target of 107 runs was achieved by the Pakistan team in the 18th over for the loss of 3 wickets.

In this match played at the Nassau County Stadium in New York, Pakistan won the toss and invited Canada to bat first.

Pakistan got their first win when Navneet Delhiwal got out for 4 runs at a total score of 20.

Now the score was increased by only 9 runs when Pragat Singh scored 2 runs and was caught out by Shaheen Afridi.

Canada’s third wicket fell for 43 runs, with Nicholas Kirton run out for a personal score of one run.

The series of falling wickets of Canada accelerated and the fourth and fifth wickets fell on 54 runs only, these two wickets fell to Haris Rauf.

Meanwhile, Aaron Johnson completed his magnificent half-century with the help of 41 balls. But he was soon clean bowled by Naseem Shah at the score of 52. He was Canada’s sixth batter to get out.

Muhammad Amir scored 87 to give Pakistan their 7th victory. He got the Canadian captain Saad bin Zafar caught out. Saad scored 10 runs.

Canada did not lose any more wickets after that but could score only 106 runs in the allotted 20 overs.

On behalf of Pakistan, Mohammad Amir bowled well and dismissed 2 players by giving 13 runs in 4 overs. Apart from him, Haris Rauf also took two wickets while Shaheen Shah and Naseem Shah each got one wicket.

In pursuit of the target, Mohammad Rizwan played a responsible innings scored a half-century, and played a key role in the team’s victory. He remained unbeaten by scoring 53 runs.

Captain Babar Azam was out for 33, Saeem Ayub 6, and Fakhar Zaman 4 runs. Usman Khan remained not out scoring 2 runs.

Delon Hellinger struck out 2 while Jeremy Gordon struck out one for Canada.

On the occasion of the toss, the captain of the national cricket team, Babar Azam, said that Saeem Ayub had been included in the team instead of Iftikhar Ahmed.

Pakistan team consisted of captain Babar Azam, Muhammad Rizwan, Saeem Ayub, Fakhar Zaman, Usman Khan, Shadab Khan, Imad Wasim, Shaheen Shah Afridi, Naseem Shah, Haris Rauf and Muhammad Amir.

The Pakistan team was looking forward to its first win in the unit, it had to face a defeat against the USA in the first match and traditional rival India in the second.

In order to stay in the event, Pakistan not only needs to win their next two matches, but the USA also needs defeats against India and Ireland.

If the US somehow managed to get one more point, the event would be over for Pakistan in the first round.

Related Stories

Spain won the Euro Cup 2024 title

Spain defeated England 1-2 in the final of the Euro Cup 2024, Spain became the most European nation to...

‘Cutie, My Malik’, Sana Javed shared Shoaib Malik new video

Pakistani famous actress and model Sana Javed has shared a new video of her husband, famous cricketer Shoaib Malik. After...

Pakistan’s Ashab Irfan won the Kenso Open Squash Championship

Ashab Irfan of Pakistan won the Kenso Open Squash Championship in the USA. In the final, Pakistani player Ashab Irfan...

Trending on DiariesPK